Social media has expanded its network in almost every corner of the world. Thanks to the global village, now we see everyone connected with each other through various social media platforms like Twitter.
Each social media platform has its own unique way of operating and a different set of features offered to its users to maximize the level of engagement with them.
These platforms keep on upgrading their services to ensure the maximum degree of satisfaction among their users.
Twitter is one well-known social networking space where users connect by posting short messages and showing creativity by posting memes, information, and more.
The easiest possible way of checking if someone has blocked you is by searching the user’s profile who you think has blocked you on Twitter. If it’s true that the suspected user has blocked you, it will view that ‘@username has blocked you.”
That being told, we have more details brewed up for you on this topic so let’s dig right in!
How To View If Someone Has Blocked Me on Twitter?
Let’s get this straight, Twitter hasn’t just yet launched a feature through which you can directly view who are those enemies that have blocked you on the site.
However, an authentic method to find out is by suspecting if there is someone in your followers list who you think is quite not a great fan of the content you post and could’ve done this act.
Next, you search this person’s profile on the Twitter app and if you see their profile appearing, then congrats you are not blocked.
Either way, if you see “@username has blocked you” or “You can’t see @username’s tweets,” popping up then your suspicion was right, you’re blocked.
Twitter is respectful of its user’s privacy thus it has not yet introduced a feature to view the block list of a user. The purpose is to avoid any negative conversation or interaction at any cost.
Just in case, if you’re wondering what could be other ways to find out who has blocked you on Twitter then there is one more way you can do it.
You can make use of a third-party app to find out how many accounts have blocked you.
An app called Blolook can exactly let you know how many accounts have blocked you, without viewing their usernames.
- Go to the Blolook website or app on your computer or mobile and select the option to log in with your Twitter account.
- Allow the authorization to take place to connect you to your Twitter account on the site. Once authorization is complete, click on your account box. Down below, you’ll see a number of accounts that are blocking you.
- You can also view the number of mutual blocks (meaning you both have blocked each other) and accounts that only you have blocked.
Blolook is until now the only place you can get to know how many people are not interested to view your content in their feed.
However, you may find many other sites that claim to get the work done, many of them being either scams or charging you for premium access.
Thus it is always good to beware when surfing for third-party apps to get such a job done.
How To View Who I Blocked On Twitter?
Though you can’t directly view who has blocked you on Twitter, there’s definitely a way out to see a list of people who you blocked on Twitter.
This especially helps to personalize your experience with Twitter so there’s no threat to anybody or the app.
Here’s how you can view your block list:
- First things first, click open the Twitter app on your computer or mobile phone.
- Click on your profile icon and then click on Settings and Privacy.
- Find blocked accounts to be able to see which accounts you blocked on Twitter.
If you have blocked someone on Twitter or vice versa, these actions won’t occur:
- Following or getting followed by the account you blocked
- View the accounts and content that blocked you or you blocked them
- Retweeting on accounts that are blocked by you or vice versa
- Sliding into the DMs of the account you blocked or exchanging messages with those accounts that blocked you. Twitter deletes all chats that took place prior to the blocking action.
|To View Your Block List||What Happens After You Block Someone|
|Click open the Twitter app on your computer or mobile phone.||You can’t view content posted by the account you blocked.|
|Click on your profile icon and then click on Settings and Privacy.||You can’t retweet on blocked accounts.|
|Find blocked accounts to be able to see which accounts you blocked.||You can no longer follow their activities.|
Can I Block Someone Without Letting Them Know?
If you’re not comfortable with someone’s posts on Twitter, you know that you can block them and initially, they won’t even know about it. But the trouble is when they eventually search you up on Twitter and find out that you’ve blocked them.
If you’re not brave enough to directly block then muting is a good option. When you mute someone it means that their posts won’t show up in your feed nor they would be notified about it.
However, muting someone does not at all mean that they are removed from your following list. They remain on the list and you are still able to communicate, share or reply to them.
Follow these steps to mute someone’s profile:
- Visit the Twitter website or open the app.
- Open the profile of the account you wish to mute and click on the three dots appearing with the option to follow.
- Select Mute.
You can also mute someone’s tweets by following these actions:
- Open the Twitter website or app you are logged in with.
- Search for the tweet you wish to mute and click on the three dots appearing next to the tweet.
- Select the option to mute.
Does A Retweet Disappear On The Account I Blocked?
No, it doesn’t. Blocking someone necessarily doesn’t mean that the retweet on their account would disappear.
If someone retweeted your tweet and eventually you blocked them, to you and to them it may seem like the retweet has disappeared but actually, it can be viewed by everyone in their follower list.
Therefore blocking isn’t a solution to making your retweets vanish on someone’s page.
- In a nutshell, Twitter ensures that its strict privacy rules are followed for its users’ safety. Thus, it never allows anyone to see the list of people who have blocked them.
- However, there are indirect ways that can be used to find out how many accounts have blocked someone or vice versa. Neither of these ways exposes the usernames of the accounts that have done the action. For instance, we discussed Blolook as one of the third-party apps for this purpose.
- If you’re not confident to directly block then muting is a good option. When you mute someone it means that their posts won’t show up in your feed nor they would be notified about it.
- Why Is Google Left Aligned? (Answered)
- Turning Off Read Receipts On Instagram: Is This Possible?
- How Do Google Maps Know Where Speed Traps Are?
Click here to view the visual Story version of this article.