Skip to Content

What Does The Lock Next To The Twitter Name Mean? (Answered)

Twitter opening on a mobile
Twitter is among the most used apps today

What comes to your mind when you think of a padlock? Something related to security and protection of privacy, right?

Similarly, there are renowned apps on social media right now that use the ‘padlock’ feature to signify a particular aspect. For instance, some of us see the ‘padlock’ next to our Twitter name.

What does that mean, exactly?

The padlock beside or next to your username plays a great role in protecting your privacy, as it means that the content you post is restricted from being seen by the people in your follower list, and no one from outside can see it unless you permit them to.

Now that you know its significance, to get a better understanding of the ‘padlock’ icon, or to discover how to remove it from your Twitter account, I urge you to keep reading until the end! Let’s begin.

Why Is There A Lock Beside My Name on Twitter?

If you’ve been on the Twitter app for quite a long time now, and noticed that there’s a ‘padlock’ icon beside your name, don’t be amazed or feel threatened by it, the logic behind it is quite simple and straightforward.

Simply put, the small padlock you see beside your name on Twitter means that your account is set to “private” and only the people that you allow to follow you, are able to view the content you post, and not those who aren’t in your follower’s list.

This means that no random person gets to view, share, like, and comment on your tweets on Twitter, except those who request to follow you and get accepted by you in your follower list.

While this feature can be a great way to preserve a user’s privacy and security while on the platform, it’s not ideal for businesses and organizations to use.

Twitter home page
Linda Yaccarino is the CEO of Twitter

How To Remove The Padlock Icon On Twitter?

Although the ‘lock’ feature on Twitter is really helpful in maintaining the security of your account, you might not want to have it next to your username and feel it’s unwanted.

Either way, you are free to remove the padlock icon on Twitter, and let me tell you it’s very easy.

Here’s how to remove the padlock icon beside your Twitter name, and this works for web as well as mobile phone versions of Twitter:

  • Open the ‘menu’ section of Twitter, and tap on ‘Settings and Privacy.’
  • Go to ‘Privacy and Safety.’
  • Disable the option to ‘Protect your Tweets.’
  • By following these simple steps, you’ve disabled the option to ‘Protect your Tweets,’ on Twitter and successfully removed the padlock icon that appears beside your account name.

As you return to your feed, you’ll see that the padlock icon has disappeared, and your content can be viewed by everyone who wishes to see it.

In the future, if you see a need to return back to turning your account to private and enable the padlock feature on Twitter, you can easily do the reverse of the steps given above.

Remove the lock sign from your Twitter name

Advantages And Disadvantages of The Padlock Icon

You can expect to experience some advantages and disadvantages by enabling the padlock feature on Twitter. The table below demonstrates the advantages and disadvantages of the padlock icon on Twitter:

SnoAdvantages of the padlock icon beside your Twitter name Disadvantages of the padlock icon beside your Twitter name
1Not a good strategy for marketing roles and businesses, as it limits the connection between businesses and customers.If you intend to be an influencer, the padlock may not be a good option, as only people who follow you will see your tweets. Furthermore, you will need to approve each follow-up request by yourself, which can be annoying if you receive too many requests.
2Beneficial for communication between people designated in an organization or company to keep the information confidential. The exchange of private documents or information via a private Twitter account is safe.If you intend to be an influencer, the padlock may not be a good option, as only people who follow you will see your tweets. Furthermore, you will need to approve each follow-up request by yourself, which can be annoying if you receive too many requests.
3Independence and freedom to post content. Gives a personal feel to the account.If you intend to be an influencer, the padlock may not be a good option, as only people who follow you will see your tweets. Furthermore, you will need to approve each follow-up request by yourself, which can be annoying if you receive too many requests.
Advantages and disadvantages of the padlock icon on Twitter.

Is My Twitter Account Private?

When you first sign in to your account on Twitter, your account is set to public by default. However, you can customize your account to private settings by making changes in the settings.

To turn your account to private:

  • Open the Twitter ‘menu’ section, and tap on ‘Settings and Privacy.’
  • Go to ‘Privacy and Safety.’
  • Enable the option to ‘Protect your Tweets.’
  • Check if the padlock icon is appearing beside your Twitter name to know if the privacy setting is enabled.

Can Someone See Private Tweets?

Only your followers are able to view your tweets on Twitter after you’ve changed your privacy settings to private.

If at some point before you enabled the privacy settings on Twitter, your tweets and content were public, all of them would vanish and no longer be seen by the public’s eye or available in the search results.

Famous Twitter Symbols And Features

Here’s a basic introduction to the other Twitter symbols and features, after knowing what the padlock means:

The blue tick

According to the old Twitter rules, the blue tick refers to the verification of the account on the platform, secondly, it means that the user has subscribed to the new ‘Twitter Blue’ feature that comes with many other exciting features.

Timeline order

You select the order of the tweets displayed in your feed. Either you can select to see the tweets chronologically or let Twitter decide the right ones for you according to relevance.

Lists

Adding a list on Twitter is a great way to be able to access specific tweets from specific companies, organizations, clients, etc.

This feature allows you to customize your timeline and filter it with the content you want to view in the future.

A list can be set private or public, depending on your choice, and whether you want the other person to know that you added their tweet to your list.

Twitter logo
Twitter was founded on March 21, 2006

Conclusion

The main takeaway points from this article are:

  • The padlock beside or next to your username plays a great role in protecting your privacy, as it means that the content you post is restricted from being seen by the people in your followers list.
  • When you first sign in to your account on Twitter, your account is set to public by default. However, you can customize your account to private by making changes in the settings.
  • Only your followers are able to view your tweets on Twitter after you’ve changed the privacy settings to private.
  • To remove the padlock: Open the ‘menu’ section of Twitter, and tap on Settings and Privacy> Go to Privacy and Safety>Disable the option to ‘Protect your Tweets.’

Other Articles

Skip to content